Originally the brainchild of guitarist Chris Wethington, Softspoken began expansion from a simple side-project to a fully-manned band in December of 2015 when Wethington began writing with fellow guitarist Billy Zimpelman. Over the next several months the lineup was filled out with original members Garrett Harper (bass), Logan Combs (vocals), and Zach Payne (drums).
Softspoken announced their arrival to the alternative rock scene with their first single Shorelines in March 2016. Their first official show came a month later, at Launch Music Festival in Lancaster, PA where they performed as part of a showcase to various industry professionals, and then they were off to Phoenix, AZ to record with producer Cameron Mizell at Chango Studios. The end result of their time in Arizona was the band’s debut EP, Pathways. Pathways was originally picked up and released by independent label We Are Triumphant with the EP’s first single Wanderer released in November 2016, and each subsequent track released over the following months. The release of Pathways coincided with a major shift in personnel for the band; original vocalist Logan Combs, and drummer Zach Payne both parted with the band in February 2017. Nevertheless, Pathways released on March 16, 2017 with single I Feel Fire catching fire with the band’s first inclusion on official Spotify playlist Crash Course. The band took the changes in stride, bringing on Sam Scheuer as the new vocalist, and new drummer Myka Meeks in April 2017, and immediately begin self-booking weekend runs and longer tours. After a busy summer of building their name, Softspoken made the decision to split with their label We Are Triumphant, and buy back the rights to Pathways. It was during this time that the band split with original bassist Garrett Harper. Once again independent, and now a foursome, the band returned to Mizell to record two new singles.
The first of those two singles – Begin Again – was released on November 3, 2017. As the first recording to feature the new lineup and Schuerer’s vocals, it too was picked up by Spotify and to date has collected over 250,000 streams. Closing out 2017, Softspoken joined forces with Artery Global for tour booking, and released their first cover, putting their own spin on Faith Hill’s Where Are You Christmas?.
Softspoken started 2018 with the announcement of Pathways Deluxe Edition, which released on March 9, 2018 – almost a full year after the release of the first EP – with 11 tracks, including the original 5-song EP, Begin Again, a new single How We Rise, and four other b-side/revisited tracks. The band embarked on a “Pathways Tour” that same month, and then officially declared the “Pathways Chapter” to be at an end.
In June 2018, Softspoken entered the studio with producer Matt Goldman (Underoath, As Cities Burn, My Epic, etc.) to begin recording their first true LP, and then finished out the rest of the year touring – hitting the road with Adventurer in July, FoxBat in August/September (and officially welcoming new bassist, Nick Sias), solo in October, with a tour upcoming in November, and December slated for wrapping up loose ends for LP1.

Related Shows