A Sound Of Thunder


A Sound of Thunder delivers a unique and exciting blend of classic heavy metal, progressive, and rock. The young upstarts from Washington, DC pay no heed to trends, focusing on quality song-writing with memorable melodies and riffs that stand the test of time. With first class musicianship all around, the band’s not-so-secret weapon is vocalist Nina Osegueda. Standing only 5′, the diminutive singer packs the vocal wallop of someone twice her size. Described as a “heavy metal Swiss army knife”, Osegueda moves effortlessly from delicate whisper to overwhelming power, with the occasional banshee wail thrown in for good measure!

Read on to delve into the intricacies of A Sound Of Thunder, their members, releases and achievements to date.

A Sound of Thunder was formed in 2008 by guitarist Josh Schwartz and drummer Chris Haren. After over a year of numerous line-up changes and false starts, in late 2009 they were joined by vocalist Nina Osegueda, who had grown restless in her previous band and was in search of broader musical horizons. The chemistry between Schwartz, Haren and Osegueda was instant, and the band wasted no time recording their self-titled debut EP in late 2009, and follow up single benefitting the West Memphis Three in early 2010.

A Sound of Thunder (or “ASoT” as they are known by their fans) played their first live show with Osegueda in February, 2010. Gigging frequently in the local Washington area, they began opening for national acts, including Accept, Sabaton, Loudness, Primal Fear, Doro, Kamelot, and a host of others, gaining precious experience and developing a formidable stage presence of their own.

Though to this point the bass chores had been handled by short-timers and fill-ins, ASoT forged on with the recording of their debut album, “Metal Renaissance”. It was in the midst of recording “Metal Renaissance”, in mid-2010, that bassist and keyboard player Jesse Keen arrived. The musical and personal chemistry with Keen was instant, and thus the band’s definitive line-up was cemented. The release of “Metal Renaissance” in March 2011 drew positive reviews and was punctuated with a headlining gig at Baltimore’s prestigious Rams Head Live! venue.

Never content to rest, A Sound of Thunder immediately began recording their second album, “Out of the Darkness”. Feeling that previous self-produced efforts had not captured the band’s potential on record, ASoT tapped producer Kevin “131” Gutierrez (While Heaven Wept, Shinedown) for production. With a full permanent line-up now in place for the entire writing and recording process, and a bona fide and road-tested producer on board, the band and its fans all agree that A Sound of Thunder finally arrived with “Out of the Darkness”. Stretching out into new musical territory, the album showcased ASoT’s signature riff-laden songwriting, but with additional nuances and complexity, and multiple layers of harmonized guitars and vocals, keyboards, and even a string quartet. Released in March of 2012, “Out of the Darkness” received overwhelmingly positive reviews in metal press around the world, and the band embarked on its first full-fledged tour, covering thousands of miles throughout the United States.
A Sound of Thunder continued recording at a relentless place, starting work on its third full-length album in mid-2012. By this time the band had developed a reputation as one of the most fan-friendly bands in metal, so the band fittingly turned to its beloved fans, known as the “Legion of Thunder”, to fund the album. Utilizing the Kickstarter crowd-funding platform, the Legion of Thunder raised over $8,000 for the production of “Time’s Arrow”. Released on the band’s own label, Mad Neptune Records, in June of 2013, “Time’s Arrow” raised the bar for ASoT’s song-writing, performances, and production. The album made many writers’ “Best of 2013” lists, receiving coverage from more and larger media outlets than ever before, and proving that with the power of their fans behind them, A Sound of Thunder will continue to deliver world class metal.

In 2014 A Sound of Thunder released their 4th full-length album “The Lesser Key of Solomon”. Funded by a Kickstarter campaign which raised over $23,000, the album again made many metal critics’ Best of 2014 lists, and earned the band its first Billboard chart entry, landing at number 43 on the Heatseekers Albums Chart.

In 2015 A Sound of Thunder announced a partnership with major comic book publisher Valiant Entertainment, resulting in the bands fifth album “Tales from the Deadside”, a concept album based on Valiant’s SHADOWMAN comic book series. A Kickstarter campaign for the album earned over $30,000 while the album landed at #16 on the Billboard Hard Rock Albums Chart, #8 on the Heatseekers Albums chart, and #1 on the Heatseekers Albums Mid-Atlantic regional chart.

In 2016 A Sound of Thunder will release a fan-exclusive full-length cover album entitled “Who Do You Think We Are?”. Available only through a Kickstarter campaign which earned over $31,000, the album features the band’s own unique versions of classic tracks by Alice Cooper, Rainbow, Mercyful Fate, Manowar, Tool, Kansas, Black Sabbath, Dio, Deep Purple, and Judas Priest.

Related Shows